TuWE Prompt – The Hypnotist


The Hypnotist And I 

(Fiction)

To this day, I don’t know why I went. I guess I’ll call it “peer pressure”, although I cannot stand crowds and this promised to be huge.

I also can not, ever be hypnotized, so while it might be mildly entertaining and all of my friends wanted to be chosen, I did not.

It was one of those college things, held right there.

Free.

This is what I remember and how I “think” it turned out – maybe even why…

I went with them and the hypnotist took the stage.

He was too young, very obvious, he wore a stupid costume and I hated being there, more because of the crowd, than anything else.

I “should” have been at the library, studying for that advanced placement chemical analysis test.

He started picking “test objects” out of the audience.

My friends were screaming, “Pick me!”

I was looking at the floor and that “idiot” not only picked me, but had to come down off his stage to tap my shoulder, because I wouldn’t look at him.

No, I wasn’t going.

No way in hell.

Too many people.

I went.

I was too embarrassed not to, but it would have avoided all “this”, if I’d just said no.

I can be terribly stupid, at times.

I sat in the chair with the other rejects, chanting “idiot, idiot, idiot” in my head and I was not getting sleepy, though he kept saying it.

When I became conscious (what on earth?), I was in a hospital, with casts. And there were several doctors there, nurses and an attorney, for the lawsuit. “Huh?”

And I hurt.

Well, the top half of me hurt, the rest of me, I couldn’t feel at all. I was terrified when I figured that out.

I sued him.

But, I did worse, because apparently my own chanting, the “idiot, idiot, idiot” helped put me under “his spell” and I was told that I thought I could fly and tried. Missed the entire stage and landed on the concrete in front of the first row of people.

I would have won the lawsuit, too, if my arms didn’t work so well.

I shot him.

No, no, no, not with a gun, as I didn’t have one, but with a needle full of morphine that someone thought they gave me.

Then I ran him over with my electric wheelchair, till he screamed that last time.

Killed the “idiot”. I sit in an institutional prison, writing, what else is there to do? I’m here for life.

Thanks, Dr. Pam, for this oh-so happy writing prompt!

Copyright M. Nicholson 2014

 

 

About katlnhat

I like to write, so I'm here.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to TuWE Prompt – The Hypnotist

  1. pambrittain says:

    Still learning and it took about an hour to find this, but happy chirps, you are now linked to WE (I hope). Now back up to read your story.

  2. Pingback: WETue challenge, May 20, 2014, Mind Control | Writing Essential Group

Hi! Glad to see you here, want to talk?

