Dumb and Stupid


Prompt is for Doug at Sunwinks!, June 8, 2014

You’re dumb; you’re stupid, the mirror said,
take a look in me and you’ll see!

You’re dumb, stupid,  but I am not,
though looking in that thing seemed meant to be.

You’re dumb, it repeated as I looked around,
not wanting to look, it’s the same old song.

You’re dumb, stupid, I command you to look,
as it drew my eyes to it; we just don’t get along.

You’re dumb, it shouted, louder than the flush,
yes, I’m in the bathroom, came here to p…-do this,

You’re dumb, stupid, it began, so snide,
wanting to get out, run, as it let out a hiss.

You’re dumb, stupid! – look into my eyes,
and just like that, I’d had it; had come to the end.

You’re dumb, stupid, it continued to scream,
as I picked up that heavy thing, as if in a dream.

I’m dumb, stupid, it was right all along,
for I lost it, smashed it, .cracked it with a toy truck.

So, dumb, stupid, in mirror-jail I am,
and have seven more years bad luck.

I’m dumb, stupid, the thing was right,
everything that it said to me.

I’m dumb, stupid, as I now have enough,
hundreds of seven years bad luck, x three.

Copyright M. Nicholson 2014

About katlnhat

I like to write, so I'm here.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dumb and Stupid

  1. slpsharon says:

    Whoof. Good, but rough on self.

  2. Well done and interesting read. Good use of anaphora, effectively evokes narrator hammering on herself. Thanks for this!

  3. Pingback: SunWinks! June 8, 2014: The Poetry of Barbados Joe Walcott | Writing Essential Group

  4. pambrittain says:

    Wow, Mare! This is really good.

Hi! Glad to see you here, want to talk?

